Subscribe by email, free
Your daily briefing for podcasting and on-demand
International Women’s Podcast Awards 2022 Announces Winners

International Women’s Podcast Awards 2022 Announces Winners

Press Release · London, UK ·

The International Women’s Podcast Awards, a unique event celebrating the very best moments in podcasting created by women and non-binary folk, has announced their winners for 2022. The awards recognise the work of women and non-binary people in podcasting, both behind the mic and behind the scenes, who have created incredible audio moments and intimate listening experiences.

The 2022 International Women’s Podcast Awards was hosted at The Conduit in London by acclaimed comedian, podcaster and writer, Deborah Frances-White, whose own podcast The Guilty Feminist has had more than 95 million downloads worldwide. 180 guests were present in London for the event, with nominees attending from as far afield as Los Angeles, Israel, Zambia and Switzerland. A wider global audience watched via a livestream from The Conduit, giving the awards a truly international reach.

Naomi Mellor, founder of the International Women’s Podcast Awards, said:

Get the free Podnews newsletter for more like this.
Our privacy policy keeps your data safe.
(Fill this in now; you won’t lose your place!)

“It’s been a real joy to hear the entries we received from across the world for this year’s International Women’s Podcast Awards. We were amazed that in 2022 we tripled our submissions from last year, receiving entries from women and non-binary folk from a huge range of countries, and I’m thrilled to have announced the winners of our 10 categories this evening. The quality of work entered was astoundingly high, and confirmed all our suspicions about the depth and breadth of talent out there. Congratulations to all the winners - your work was truly brilliant and fully deserving of this recognition.”

Naomi also added her sincere thanks to the event’s sponsors, Acast, Amazon Music, Focusrite, Shure and Wondery, category supporters Captivate and Blubrry, plus all the fantastic brands that had contributed to the event.

The full list of winners

Effin Hormones
The Amazon Music and Wondery Moment of Comedy Gold, presented by Craig Strachan of Amazon Music
Winners: Helen Brown, Emma Goswell, Beena Khetani and Terri Sweeney of Effin’ Hormones “Sweet, funny and empowering, and I laughed out loud!” “LOVED THIS. That is all.”
From: Helen Brown
Hosted by: Captivate
Taking On Putin
The Acast Moment of Behind-The-Scenes Brilliance, presented by Melissa Matanda of Acast
Winner: Laura Sheeter, Taking on Putin “An incredibly important piece of work. Put together like the beginning of a detective novel. I’m hooked. Really well done.” “Production value is really great; I FELT that opening clip listing those who have been poisoned. Great writing and very relevant.”
From: John Sweeney
Hosted by: Libsyn
The Focusrite Moment of Raw Emotion - presented by Ollie Russell Piercey of Focusrite
Winners: Kierna Mayo and Florence Barrau-Adams, Culturati: Conversations with Kierna Mayo “A rich soundscape, highly immersive. Raw, razor-sharp storytelling that sucks you right in and leaves you wanting more.”
From: Breakbeat Media
Hosted by: Spreaker
The Convex Conversation
The Captivate FM Moment of Entrepreneurial Inspiration - presented by Sarah McDowell of Captivate
Winner: Helen Fospero, The Convex Conversation “Very inspiring conversation with nice clean production. Loved Amar as a guest and the touching, funny moments peppered through the interview. Great rapport between host and guest.”
From: Convex
Hosted by: Podbean
28ish Days Later
The Moment of Insight From A Role Model - presented by Laura Blake of UK Audio Network
Suzy Grant and the team at Listen Productions for 28ish Days Later “Jawdropping. Incredibly important subject matter - I immediately wanted to hear more.”
From: BBC Radio 4
Hosted by: BBC
The Blubrry Moment of Dramatic Tension - presented by Toby Goodman of Podcast Network Solutions
Winner: Selly Thiam, AfroQueer Podcast “An incredibly gripping and scary moment told so clearly. The subject recounts in a level and understandable way while conveying the terror of the situation. The production is impeccable, great levels between speakers and high quality recording.”
From: AfroQueer
Hosted by: Podbean
The Divorce Social
The Moment of Touching Honesty - presented by Imriel Morgan of Content is Queen
Winner: Samantha Baines, The Divorce Social “Heart-breaking and courageous honesty displayed with tender and sensitive interviewing. Great work.”
From: Samantha Baines
Hosted by: Acast
Deer Humans,
The Moment of Calm Unflappability - presented by Manveen Rana of Times Radio
Winner: Eve Bishop, Deer Humans “This is an example of how niche can be very compelling. Great production and interesting storytelling”.
From: Eve Bishop
Hosted by: Acast
The Long Time Academy
The Moment of Visionary Leadership - presented by comedian, actor and podcaster Samantha Baines
Winners: Lina Prestwood, Ella Saltmarshe and Madeleine Finlay of The Long Time Academy “Loved hearing the voice of her nephew and how that wove into the story that followed. A fabulous listen” “Great opening, interesting production choices and sound design.”
From: Headspace Studios, The Long Time Project, Scenery Studios
Hosted by: Simplecast
Out There
The Shure Award For Changing The World One Moment At A Time - presented by Jack Drury of Shure
Winner: Willow Belden and Sam Baker, Out There “This is the clear winner for me. Great combination of rich sound design, clean audio editing, clear narrative arc with conflict, resolution, characters, and setting.”
From: Willow Belden
Hosted by: Libsyn

For more information on the awards, check out our website

This is a press release which we link to from Podnews, our daily newsletter about podcasting and on-demand. This is reprinted verbatim; we may rewrite headlines and descriptions.

Get a global view on podcasting and on-demand with our daily news briefing